IBBY UK is a nominating body for many of the major awards relating to writing and illustration for children and young people. Nominations are made by the UK Committee after consultation with IBBY UK members. Three are four awards managed by IBBY: the Hans Christian Andersen Awards; the IBBY Honour List; the list of Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities; and the IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award. Additionally, IBBY UK nominates for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award; the Biennial of Illustration Bratislava (BIB); and the Children’s Laureate.

IBBY Awards

Hans Christian Andersen Awards

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children’s books. Nominations for the Andersen Award are made by the national sections of IBBY. The award recipients are selected by a distinguished international jury of children’s literature specialists.

Asahi Reading Promotion Award

The IBBY-Asahi Reading Promotion Award is given biennially to two groups or institutions whose outstanding activities are judged to be making a lasting contribution to reading promotion programmes for children and young people. The nominations are submitted by the national sections of IBBY and may include projects from any part of the world.

IBBY Honour List

The IBBY Honour List is a biennial selection of outstanding recently published books, honouring writers, illustrators and translators from IBBY-member countries. Seven sets of the books circulate around the world at exhibitions during conferences and book fairs, including the Bologna Book Fair in 2017.

Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities

Every two years IBBY compiles an international catalogue of recently published outstanding books for young people with disabilities. We seek to identify well-written and illustrated books for and about young people with different abilities, presented with dignity, emphasizing the person rather than the disability itself.

Silent Books

In response to the waves of refugees from Africa and the Middle East arriving in the Italian island, Lampedusa, IBBY launched the project “Silent Books, from the world to Lampedusa and back” in 2012. The project involved creating the first library on Lampedusa to be used by local and immigrant children.

Children’s laureate

The role of Children’s Laureate is awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children’s books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field. IBBY UK is represented on the Children’s Laureate Steering Group and is also one of the organisations involved in the nomination process for the new Laureate, which takes place every two years. Lauren Child is the Laureate for 2017–2019.

Astrid Lingren Memorial Award

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award rewards children’s and young adult literature in the broadest sense. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and promoters of reading are eligible. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is presented in March every year to one or several laureates. The award total is 5 million SEK (over £430,000). Nominees from all over the world are eligible.

The Biennial of Illustration Bratislava (BIB)

The Biennial of Illustration Bratislava (BIB) is one of the oldest international honours for children’s book illustrators. First granted in 1967 to Yasuo Segawa (Japan), it is one of the more prestigious children’s book awards today, along with the Hans Christian Andersen Awards.

About IBBY

The International Board on Books for Young People is a unique international alliance of everyone interested in children’s literature: academics, librarians, writers, illustrators, publishers, teachers, literacy workers, booksellers, parents and others.

Registered Office: 71 Addiscombe Court Road, Croydon, CR0 6TT
The IBBY UK Section is a Company Limited by Guarantee: Company number 7892957; Registered Charity number 1145999.

Website designed and developed by Osomi